Lace Rocks!

LACE is the keyword in the Spring of 2012 fashion trends. You can look anywhere and you’ll see lace tops, skirts, blouses etc. Just yesterday I was walking around the local Zara outlet and there was an abundance of lace everywhere.

I tend to not follow the trends that much, however, this is one trend I just happen to adore. It’s so girly, yet you can apply to a more rock-chick look as well. Just imagine, black strappy top, black jeans, studded belt and biker boots and a cream colored lace t-shirt. This actually happens to be the outfit I’m wearing atm. No pics tho as I’m sitting in a cafe and people would just give me strange looks if I started posing by myself :D

The lace t-shirt that I just mentioned was inspired by Kimichi Blue – Lace Tee – $19.99The t-shirt was worn by Aria in Pretty Little Liars (she wore the cream colored one). As soon as I saw the shirt I knew I needed to have one. The trouble is that in Estonia there’s no point in trying to find anything decent, you’ll look forever. Thankfully I like sewing, so I just headed to the local fabric store and got some stretchy lace. I made my version a bit more tight and the pattern is different but the idea is the same. So far I’ve worn it with casual looks but I can imagine how good it would look with a black pencil skirt and ultra-high heals.

Now that I’m completely obsessed with lace I’ve gone on a bit of a shopping spree. I got some navy colored lace, also stretchy. I also got some fabric with grey and white stripes and I plan on making a simple top. The kick is that I’m going to cut out a butterfly shaped patch and substitute it with the navy colored lace. Now, this is all good in theory but sewing with stretchy fabrics can get tricky. I’ll keep you updated on how things are going.

I also got some black leather and blue lining for a purse I’m going to make my friend Anett for her birthday :) She wanted a light lilac color but I couldn’t find any leather to match her wishes. It’s ok tho, black is timeless and I’m sure she’s gonna love it :D

XOXO – Ley

One thought on “Lace Rocks!

  1. Pingback: Lace Rocks part 2 :) | kittycanscratch

Leave a Reply

