DIY: Chestnut necklace

Yesterday I collected some chestnuts and decided to use them to make a funky necklace. I got some brown pearls to go with it and I had some chain leftover from another DIY.

The hardest part was to pierce through the chestnut to pull a wire through for loops on both ends. I decided to use a thick needle and round nose pliers. Be careful when you do that. I managed to stab my finger and it hurt….A LOT!

Once you’ve pierced the chestnut you can pull wire through it and create loops on both ends thus turning the chestnut into a massive bead 😀

From then on it’s up to you, whether you want to make the necklace entirely from chestnuts, adding beads or chains or whatever else you like. That’s the beauty of a DIY project, you can change it as you see fit 🙂

 

I went for the natural look, used brown beads to match the chestnut color and slight chain. I actually used double to give it a more bulky look.

 


My mom and my sister loved this necklace so much that I’m already commissioned to make them their own versions. And I’m also gonna add a listing to my Etsy shop 🙂

2 thoughts on “DIY: Chestnut necklace

Leave a Reply

